In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way.

Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is said that products are often advertised as new ones in some way by their enterprises. There are two reasons that lead to such circumstance: first, companies are eager to push more sales of their products and second, they want to attract more customers due to the fact that the buyers would prefer fresh goods. In my opinion, this activity is quite disadvantageous since it would mislead the consumers’ awareness about the quality of the given product.

To begin with, because of the fast development of international economics, businesses always make plan to take the highest profits and as many customers as possible, which leads to the result that more and more goods have been emphasized in the wrong way about its real freshness. Such action could be constituted as a fraud and may cause a number of problems relating to boycott or lawsuit from the traders. Miliket, for example, used to be a well-known noodle brand in Vietnam, however, when a report regarding its out-of-date noodles had been published in 2004, its reputation was decreased in a few days and the whole industry had no other choice but to open a meeting to further discuss about this issue with the public.

As a result, I always consider the given topic a negative development, because of not only its fraud, but also the risk on consumers’ health. For people who are in need of new products, provided that they had to use the old one, there might be some bad affects on their health. Mr. Nguyen Van Toai is an instance for this controversial statement. According to VnExpress news, many years ago, he was diagnosed with allergist concerning the use of old milk, nevertheless, he accidentally drank a bottle of expired dairy products because there was a label confirming the freshness of the milk right on the bottle. After that, he sued the milk company and received an amount of money in remedy.

In conclusion, introducing goods by emphasing them as the new ones is a frequent method that many businesses have been using for a period, however, concerning its affect on people’s health, there should be some solutions from the government to reduce such fraudulent activity.