In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products

are new in some way.

Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

During these years, brands are highlighting the fact that their products are new and innovative somehow when they advertise. The reason behind this is that businesses are more competitive than ever and newer brands are emerging day by day. In my opinion, it can lead to a positive change not only for companies but also for consumers.

One of the possible reasons is that having a lot of choices for customers even for the same kind of products. For example, when a customer goes shopping to buy something, he can choose from a wide variety of brands. When that happens, brands have to try their best to make sure that their products are standing out among other brands so, in their advertising, they try to persuade people in a way that their products use cutting-edge technology or they are the latest ones in the market because they know that people get excited when they see or hear the word “new”.

However, companies acknowledge that the public is not that easy to be persuaded, resulting in the innovation of new technology and ideas which are beneficial for consumers. In other words, they understand that only advertising is not enough to sell their products and they need to introduce new functions, which are not available in other products, to people. As a result, businesses put a massive amount of money into research to make better products, giving wonderful user experiences to customers.

On the other hand, we should consider the fact that people could become materialistic when they are surrounded by new and attractive products. As a consequence, there will be a countless amount of waste which has a huge impact on our environment. Moreover, people from low socioeconomic backgrounds will feel depressed because they can’t catch up with the trends.

In conclusion, bigger competition in consumerism causes businesses to advertise their products are new in some way. Even though it could urge people to buy stuff more than they need, I strongly believe that end users can get the benefits of brands trying more than they used to in order to produce better products to satisfy customers.