Theoretical subjects such as mathematics and philosophy are taught in universities but students prefer more practical subjects such as accounting and computer programming. Some people believe theoretical subjects should be abandoned in universities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Lately, the content of the curriculum in some universities is becoming a topic of public interest. There is a school of thought holds that the theoretical subjects should be removed from the curriculum because the student’s preferences are practical lessons. Although this belief has many benefits, I am convinced that it does more harm than good.

There are many compelling advantages of abandoning mathematics and philosophy in the university. Firstly, thanks for reducing the number of subjects, students can ease the colossal study pressure, which leads to depression, even suicides. Secondly, instead of learning something which is considered useless, they have a chance to spend their time and attempt to widen knowledge and practical skills in their main major. Moreover, spare time is also used for other purposes, such as: doing a part-time job for income, traveling and exploring new activities as a recreational purpose and enlarging their grasp.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned advantages, removing theoretical subjects can have a huge adverse bearing on students as well as society. It can be easily observed that modern science, technology, and utilities are the results of historical theories, which are contained in theoretical subjects. Learning these kinds of subjects acts as a precursor to the deep understanding of the origins of both advanced devices and social problems. Moreover, seizing all these theories is a major contributor for students to easily figure out the solutions in practical circumstances.

In conclusion, absorbing all the meanings of theoretical subjects is a vital determinant in which students can apply these things to pressing problems and practical programs. I am totally convinced that universities shouldn’t remove theoretical subjects from the curriculum