Is there any value in studying academic subjects that are not “useful” in terms of generating wealth for the country?

Many people say that an useful education is one of the factors that creates affluence for the nation. However, the definition of “useful” is not clear if we are still under the impression that academic subjects are helpful only when they can generate prosperity. In my opinion, I strongly argue that academic subjects do not directly generate great wealth but they are still useful in some ways.

Some subjects are functional in their own fields. For example, linguistics means study how language works. This field is used to research how to teach language more effectively. In the period of international integration, commination is necessary which helps having better trading relations and can turn into generating wealth. Another subject such as archaelogy, which exams the remains of old objects to learn more about the societies and peoples of the past. Most of the studies will be displayed in museums, it can attract tourists who generate income for country’s tourism.

There also many subjects are useful in terms of meeting people’s hobbies. There are subjects that become common to people such as astronomy, which is a scientific study of the stars, planets and other natural objects in space. Some people are interested in understanding the planet they are living on while others are excited about discovering other planets of the solar system. These academic subjects are having the task of fulfilling human’s curiousity.

To summarize, any academic studies have its value, some are used to enrich the country but some are used to satisfy people’s need. Therefore, every academic subjects should be held in high regard.