There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do
we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important
than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?
It is true that a rich variety of musical styles can be found around the
world. Music is a vital part of all human cultures for a range of reasons,
and I would argue that traditional music is more important than modern,
international music.
Music is something that accompanies all of us throughout our lives. As
children, we are taught songs by our parents and teachers as a means
of learning language, or simply as a form of enjoyment. Children delight
in singing with others, and it would appear that the act of singing in a
group creates a connection between participants, regardless of their age.
Later in life, people’s musical preferences develop, and we come to see
our favourite songs as part of our life stories. Music both expresses and
arouses emotions in a way that words alone cannot. In short, it is difficult
to imagine life without it.
In my opinion, traditional music should be valued over the international
music that has become so popular. International pop music is often
catchy and fun, but it is essentially a commercial product that is marketed
and sold by business people. Traditional music, by contrast, expresses
the culture, customs and history of a country. Traditional styles, such as
...(example)..., connect us to the past and form part of our cultural
identity. It would be a real pity if pop music became so predominant that
these national styles disappeared.