There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Music has evolved through generations into various types and genres. From my perspective, it has become a vital part of every human culture for many reasons, and traditional and international music, two different kinds of music, are equally essential to the general development of music.

One of the functions of music that meet human needs is emotional healing and enrichment. A singer communicates with his listeners through his music works since a song may be an untold heartbreaking story through which he needs empathy or the expression of sympathy he shows toward those unfortunate in a particular aspect of life. Thanks to this communication, music lovers could feel more comforted when someone understands themselves and sympathize more with the artist or the unluckier lives. In addition, music, which tends to be regarded as literature without melody, can satisfy people with its educational values as a song can convey priceless lessons to listeners. Those lessons can be about how they should treat people, how they value themselves and life, or maybe about cultural and historical values they need to be aware of to preserve for future generations.

In my viewpoint, it may be hard to define whether traditional or international music is more vital since both are crucial to the development of music in any country around the world. To be more specific, each type reflects and plays a different role in the music of a nation. Traditional genres, such as Ca Tru and Quan Ho in Viet Nam, express the country's culture, customs and history, connecting us to the past and forming part of our cultural essence. Exposure to them would boost people's acknowledgement of their origin and broaden their cultural horizons. By contrast, international music, which is popular and widely listened to, glues cultures together. Having a catchy melody and deep lyrics, it is the universal voice of many music lovers, linking them into a whole called "the world". Thus, traditional and international music should not be valued differently as they are mutually supportive: one unites culture with the others, and one gives it a unique identity and differentiates it from the rest.

In conclusion, music is a necessary part of human existence, and I believe both traditional and international music are worth gaining equal appreciation.