There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that I heard everywhere nowadays?

In the global era, moderately everybody in the world need more music than before. Research Centre for musical studies Birmingham University stated that music should be defined not only as an artistry, but also should be interpreted as a cultural existence of a country. However, one important aspect of this phenomenon today is most of young people in plentiful countries are more interested to western or international music than their traditional music. Of course this situation might be implicated to the decrease of loving and caring young generation towards their cultural identity. Due to this condition, in my view the development of traditional music should be important for most countries today. I hold this view for several reasons which are set out below.

First, I would like to argue that the traditional music is an appliance for every nation, culture, as well as ethnic for invigorating their sense of nations. Referring to cultural studies Institute (CSI) stated that the great nation in the world is a country who stride to guard and develop their cultural instruments, for instance traditional music, food, fashion, as well as architecture.

Second, there is a tendency to believe that traditional music have a significant role for young generation for countering to anomaly traditions. Nowadays, most of southeast Asian countries have been escalating the number of traditional music as the main strategy to oppose the western culture which it was alleged contradict to eastern civilization.

Taking everything into consideration, I believe that traditional music is more important rather than international music. I hold this view because of traditional music have many functions for the nation, among others are as a source for preserving sense of nations as well as countering to contradict tradition.