There are several factors that motivate people to stay in the workforce, and money is the most important factor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s society, it is argued that the crucial factors making people continue to go to work are based on the size of the salary offered. I wholly oppose this viewpoint since I assume that other factors are equally important.

To begin with, there are two main reasons for this belief that are vital elements to keeping people in employment. It is undeniable that their income meets their basic needs, such as paying for bills or providing their lives with articles of daily necessity, which allows them to have a reasonable quality of life. Another reason is that a stable wage allows them to satisfy their demand for entertaining activities. Due to an increasingly competitive job market, employees require a place to unwind and relax after being under heavy stress as well as workload. For instance, it is obvious why the roadway is always crowded at the weekend, as that is the time of week they may engage in entertaining activities that recharge their energy. Therefore, their work productivity and mood are enhanced.

Nevertheless, I also believe that other motivators are just as important in order to stay in the workforce. First and foremost, the prospect of advancement, of being assigned to a better position within a company, is a motivating factor. I mean that they will have a satisfactory working life, which helps them gain their ambitions along with getting a pay rise. In other words, an incentive scheme is a form of reward that managers use to motivate and retain team members. On top of that, a sense of job satisfaction comes from their professional achievements, such as developing a variety of skills and abilities or accumulating hands-on experience. Therefore, the desire to become a better version of themselves should stimulate individuals to remain in the labour force.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the idea that money is the prime motivator for employees to stay in the workforce. It is apparent that other conditions like fringe benefits, job promotion also play an indispensable role in remaining employed.