These days, more and more people are going to other countries for a significant period of time, either to find a job or to study. There are main benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties.

Discuss the advantages AND disadvantages of living AND working in a foreign country.

In recent years, there is an increasing number of people intending to seek for a job or study in foreign nations in a huge amount of time. Although there are certain benefits, some of the disadvantages also need to be taken into consideration.

On the one hand, studying and working overseas might have some positive aspects. Enhancing language skills is considered one of the feasible advantages. To illustrate, working and studying abroad require people to use foreign language on the regular basis in order to communicate with the foreigners. As the result, they would acclimatize naturally to how the native speakers use their language. The following benefit would be a better living condition. For example, some people are likely to move to Switzerland because it has the lowest criminal rate. Consequently, their safety would be ensured to some extent.

On the other hand, there are several disadvantages associated with working and studying abroad. The first demerit might be culture shock. In Vietnam, students are familiar with following teacher instruction but European students are encouraged to express their idea independently. Therefore, it would take a significant amount of time to get familiar with this learning environment. Homesickness is also one of the challenges they have to overcome. Since they are living abroad, it is apparent that their friends and family cannot be with them. Consequently, it leads to being demotivated or even desiring to get back.

In conclusion, while living and working in foreign nation is beneficial for reinforcing language learning process and providing better living environment, culture shock and homesickness are the negative aspects that require a long period of time to deal with.