These days, more and more people are going to other countries for significant periods of time, either to find a job or to study. There are clearly many benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of studying in a foreign country

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Write at least 250 words

In recent years, there has been a growing concern about whether students should or should not study in a foreign country. However, everything has its own merits and demerits. In this essay, I will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of why students choose to study abroad and some of the challenges they have to overcome.

At the outset, it is crucial to recognise that there are plenty of merits of studying abroad. One of the main positives of heading overseas is that it provides a unique opportunity to immerse oneself in a new culture.This allows them to have a better understanding of other cultures, and develop cross-culture which are highly developed by employers in today’s globalized world. Another advantage is that studying in a foreign country where the language is different from one’s native language can help improve language skills. By talking with native speakers, students are able to be provided a great opportunity to completely immerse themselves in a new language. There are plenty ways to learn a language but it’s often said that the best way to learn a language is to surround yourself with it

On the other hand it is essential to acknowledge the opposing viewpoints. One of the biggest drawbacks of studying abroad is financial burden. Studying in a foreign country means that students have to spend a great deal of money on flight tickets, renting accommodation, tuition and so on. This can result in a huge financial burden not just on themselves but also on their families too. As students have to do work to earn more money and pay for living expenses as opposed to focusing on their studies.

In summary, studying overseas, with its pros and cons, can have a double-edged effect on our lives. From my standpoint, I believe that experience gained from studying in other countries is desirable for international students and they’re also gaining proficiency in another language.