Today boarding schools are becoming more and more popular in many countries. Some people think this is a positive trend in the modern world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The number of boarding schools are increasing rapidly in many countries, which has become more prevalent than ever before. No wonder, it has become a positive phenomenon nowadays.

I, personally also believe that boarding schools have helped bring positive changes in the modern society. Those students who have no guardians to accompany them with are learning how to take care of themselves through the boarding school system. Students are getting to learn the basic set of life skills which can very much become handy later in their life such as washing clothes, cooking and so on. Moreover, students living in dormitory comparatively have better mastered the ability to manage their time efficiently than those who stay with their families, because not only they have to focus their energy into learning but also need to sharpen enough to manage to run the daily schedule smoothly.

In addition, in boarding school, students can have more time to interact with their classmates than those who live outside. Under any circumstances, without being proficient in the necessary skills of handling the communication, being cooperative and learning to share among others, sometimes the students might have to go through little conflicts and contradictions which might disband the harmony in dormitory. Boarding students are also able to realize the importance of these skills earlier than other students.

On the other hand, students who are residing inside school might have to compromise their time to have quality moments with their family members face, which could be a factor leading to making them feel like a stranger among their own family circle, especially the elementary school students. They might not be willing to share their problems or any other feelings because of the sense of non-belongingness towards the families. Thus, in the long run, it can tend to increase the risk of developing mental illness among these students.

In conclusion, while we celebrate about positive aspects of boarding schools, we should not ignore the fact it also has shortcomings. Trying to leveraging out the best outcome from the system should be the priority in the first place.