Today family members do not eat meals together. Is this a positive or negative trend?

The long-standing tradition of families having meals together has declined. While this can contribute to individuals having more free time to pursue personal pursuits, I would argue that this is a harmful development since family members will have fewer chances to forge meaningful relationships.

To begin with, families not having meals together engenders greater flexibility for individuals. Since eating alone is less time-consuming, they are then more available to engage in personal business or other social activities such as meeting with friends or working extra hours. For example, with less time dedicated to sharing a dinner with parents and siblings, a motivated worker might choose to attend a networking event and attempt to forge fruitful working partnerships that may later result in new business and collaborative projects. If they instead decide to focus on their personal life, they will be able to invest more time in their hobbies. The time gained is marginal but meaningful if the preparation for family meals is also taken into consideration.

However, with no family meals, members will lose valuable opportunities to strengthen their relationships with each other. During a meal, everyone in the family can share with one another recent personal news and advice on handling particular problems, which solidifies the connections between each family member. However, when there are no meals to be shared, the bonds between family members may begin to weaken. For instance, recent research conducted by Columbia University has found that the frequency of Americans having family meals has steadily fallen over the past decade. The same longitudinal study also reported a correlation in these families with reduced communication and feelings of togetherness. One possible explanation for this domino effect is that these meals create a structure for the day and without it relationships in the family can become more distant.

In conclusion, though people can have greater time to pursue personal activities when there are no family meals, I would ultimately assert that this is more detrimental since the bonds between family members can become severely weakened. Therefore, people should make an effort to organize such gatherings whenever they can.