Today the majority of children are raised by their grand parents, due to the fact that their parents are busy working. To what extent do you think it affects the whole family?

With the boost of current living standard, both parents are required to work in order to provide better environment for their children. Therefore, many parents choose to send their children to day care or if they are lucky, their grandparents would also take up the responsibility to share the burden. In my opinion, children being taken care and raised by their grandparents can being more benefits and the impact on the whole family member is minimal.

First and foremost, grandparents would take care of their own grandchildren better than anyone as they are their own flesh and blood. They are able to nurture and pay more attention to them. It would also benefit the elderly as most of them already retired and do not have anything to be do at home. With the accompany of their grandchildren, they can bring happiness and joy for the elderly. In addition, their parents would also feel safe and be able to concentrate on their daily task. As per report by The Star Malaysia, 80% of grandparents were at least taking care of two of their grandchildren average 5 days per week. This number is set to increase in the near coming future with increase in fertility rate.

Secondly, being raised by their own grandparents can strengthen the family bonding as well. Children are able to learn to be obedient and show appreciation towards their elderly. Learning manners is crucial for their upbringing as this will reflect their future character and personality. Besides that, having the addition of children can easily bond family members and bring their relationship closer. Survey done with 100 small families with at least 2 children by United Family Force showed 98% parents feedback that children can easily influence people around them due to their innocence and naive.

In conclusion, children being taken care of by their grandparents not only benefits both parties but also bring joy to the overall family. With the help from grandparents, working parents can better concentrate to achieve in their career in order to provide a better and secure future to their children.