In today’s job market it is far more important to have practical skils than theoretical knowledge. In the future, job applicants may not need any formal qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that in today’s employment environment, practical experience seems to play a more crucial role than theoretical knowledge and that an academic certificate will no longer be of necessity. While I agree that practical skills are indeed more essential, I also strongly believe that adequate training at university should not be neglected.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why practical experience is considered so critical. To embark on, exposed to real-life provides people with many opportunities to gain relevant experience in different fields, thereby acquiring valuable skills necessary for them to cope with challenges faced in work and life. For instance, a company would opt to choose engineers with relevant experience, rather than those who just score high marks in written examinations without any real-life practices. On top of that, during an interview, job seekers with considerable experience in their field are more likely to gain the trust of interviewers, and therefore they have a better chance of having a position in today's extremely competitive job market.

On the other hand, I disagree with the idea that academic knowledge is no longer of great significance. Firstly, although practical skills are vital, they are based on the framework of theoretical lessons. A salient example is that to become a surgeon, one must study numerous procedures before being competent at tackling various kinds of surgery. Secondly, by getting a qualified degree at a university or college, employees stand a higher chance of moving up the career ladder in their profession, thereby earning a more lucrative salary. For example, how can a person who lacks mathematical and managerial abilities has a job as an accountant or a director?

By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my state that although practical abilities are of paramount importance when applying for a job, theoretical insight is not to be overlooked.