In today's world, private companies rather than the government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Contrary to common beliefs, the body which is carrying out, as well as financially responsible for, experiments is the private companies and not the governmental ones. On one hand, industry-supported research receives substantial subsidies and drives the evolution of entire economic sectors. On the other hand, it begs the question whether companies are willing to pay for the discoveries that can potentially hurt their profit and should the public trust those results.

To assess the advantages that the private companies offer, we must take the amount of investment into consideration. Business corporations have made impressive progress over the past decades to the point that they are now called giants. By contrast, government grants for scientific research are lagging behind due to the fact that the focus has been shifted towards the military, and even education does not get enough attention. Therefore, if scientists are paid by private companies, they will have the freedom to perform all sorts of experiments, along with clinical trials, which are required to realize their innovative idea. In the case where such an idea can be commercialized to generate profit, the industry, unlike governmental agencies, is fully equipped with plants and production lines to produce on a massive scale.

Nevertheless, these advantages do not alter the fact that science is not as lucrative as other fields. If an organization wanted to make money, petroleum or soccer teams, for instance, would be better choices to invest which bring both profit and marketing value to the brand. With regards to the public, the members would be sceptical as to why an industry would fund something that damages the industry itself. Assuming a soft drink company sponsored a research on nutrition or a petrochemical was behind a research on the environment, it’s questionable whether the scientists have the authority to consider every possible aspect to the problem, even the one that might bring conflict of interest. Even when the scientists have such rights to do so, people will be reluctant to put their faith in the validity of any discovery made.

Taking into account both the pros and cons, I come to the conclusion that although scepticism is inevitable, more research being done by the private sectors will bring more innovation and improvement to everyday life.