Today single-use products are still very common. What are the problems associated with this? What are some possible solutions?

In our contemporary world, individuals prefer to use disposable items and while there are undoubted benefits, various negative effects stem from this too. Let us consider the main issues, and then outline possible remedies.

Perhaps the major problem is ocean pollution which is caused by excessive use of plastic bottles. In other words, people carelessly throw their plastic items to the water instead of recycling bin, as a result, excess plastic bags and other products on the surface of the ocean forms garbage patches. For example, there are the five biggest ocean garbage patches which are located across the globe, found in the Pacific, Atlantic, and Indian Oceans. Besides, there is another problem, seafood pollution. To put it another way, plastic debris is spread across the surface of the water and from the surface all the way to the ocean floor. Garbage of the surface of the water has found its way into the food chain ending up in fish's bodies thus becoming unhealthy for consumption. Toxic metals, toxic chemicals and microplastic have already caused untold damage to people. In addition those animals who consume these plastic pieces are dying, as an example a recent study found that sea turtles that ingest just 14 pieces of plastic have an increased risk of death.

Turning to possible solutions, using bio-plastic can prevent plastic pollution. By the way of explanation, bio-plastics are made from natural products such as avocado seeds, which are biodegradable and can dissolve in water or degrade in soil. For instance, scientists claim that bio-plastic could be the solution to the growing accumulation of hydrocarbon-derived plastics. Moreover, government and individuals together can tackle the issue related to seafood contamination. Therefore, it would be better to take active step to protect our environment by launching waste collecting and recycling companies. It is well-known fact that these steps toward protection of the marine life will have positive impact on people`s life too.

To summarize, the risks posed by single-use products are related to ocean pollution and seafood pollution, but the adverse effects of these problems can be prevented through human and government action and bio-plastic production.