Today, TV channels provide men’s sport shows more than women’s sport shows, why? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

It is true that men’s sport shows are given more time on TV channels than that of women as the fixed mindset of people about men and women. I concur with the idea that TV entertainment channels should give the same amount of time for women’s sport and men’s sport. This essay will first explain why such phenomenon is happening and submit reasons why women’s sport should be given more time.

I believe the foremost reason why TV channels are showing men’s sports more than women is the inequality between men and women caused by a fixed mindset which has instilled in most people. Generation to generation, we are taught that men are stronger, faster and braver than women so therefore men are likely to be suitable for sports. Eventually through thousands of years, many sports, sport shows and sport competitions for men have been created. As a result TV channels give more durations to sports of men.

Despite the argument above, I still support the notion that women’s sport should be shown as much time as men’s sport because of some reasons. Firstly, TV show providers benefit from this because they can make their contents more appealing to TV audiences by showing women’s sports. This means that more people will watch their shows and thus, generate more revenue from it. In addition, shows about women’s sports can attract and influence more women to engage in sports. Therefore, it will do wonders for their health and they can prove that women are as strong as men.

In conclusion, despite the fixed mindset that most people are having which leads to men’s sports are given more time, I still concur with the idea that women’s sports should be given as much time because it benefits both the TV show providers and women.