Topic: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Classmates are a more important influence than parents on a child’s success at school.

Some people believe that a child’s success is considerably affected by his classmates, while others suppose that parents who get close to their children have a great impact on youngsters' achievements in school. Personally, I agree to the statement: Classmates are a more important influence than parents on a child’s success at school. In this essay, I will express my view and focus on the reasons why I am consistent with this sentence.

Classmates significantly influences both child’s behaviour and success at school. First of all, classmates have much in common with each other such as: same ages, habits, tasks and even characteristics. Most of the time, they spend together, it is easy to share each idea or discuss lessons, teachers and homework. When a friend fails in the exam, it is classmates that help and give him motivational words. Friendship, actually, makes them closer and willing to support one another to deal with any study problems. In addition, children tend to imitate others' manners and quality. For instance, a badly behaved child is likely improve himself when he makes friends with obedient children, which is as a result of spending more time-sharing their own interests, experience, and jointly doing homework. From this point, it is undeniable that classmates play an important role in a child’s attitude towards school.

On the other hand, some said that parents give more effects to a child’s academic study than classmates. However, it is not true. Some of the parents are not capable of helping their children with homework because of different studying methods. On the part of the parents, teaching a grade school child causes much anxiety as well as long hours of scolding. Consequently, physical and emotional exhaustion happens to both parents and children. Specifically, children usually get trouble in sharing their own opinions and problems with parents. Moreover, the parents are mostly too busy being with children. In this case, fellow learners or friends affect their success most because they talk to them more and encourage each other not only in studying but also in the daily life.

In my opinion, the relationships between children and classmates have great contribution to a child’s achievements at school. If these relationships are close and steadfast, a child will have more opportunities to develop as well as gain knowledge thanks to good friends.