Land pollution’s causes

People across the globe have been facing a number of problems owing to land pollution. It is therefore considered a critical issue in these days. There are two major causes.

The first one is agricultural cultivation. With the growing human population, the demand for food has increased considerably, causing the overuse of chemical elements that have resulted in the poisoning of soil. Farmers, for example, often use highly toxic fertilizers and pesticides to get rid of wipe out insects, and fungi from their crops. Consequently, chemicals on land possibly make the ecosystem unappealing to the survivals of creatures within the interactive food chain. Furthermore, the extinction of certain species and biomagnification, are going to overthrow the balance of nature significantly.

In addition, another primary cause is urbanization. Obviously, due to overpopulation and immigration movements from the countryside to the metropolitan, numerous of construction activities are taking place, which has led to large waste articles such as debris, wood, metals and plastics outside any buildings or factories under the construction. According to estimates from the Chinese Academy of Sciences, soil polluted by heavy metals amounts to 20 million hectares. With the rise in urbanization and industrialization, the production of municipal solid waste has increased by 9% annually.

To sum up, land pollution causes immense damage covering all possible aspects. For this reason, raising people’s awareness of protecting land is more essential than ever.