Topic: Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinion is divided as to whether or not the authorities should inhibit animal tests for medical research. Despite some valid arguments for this, I believe that humans should continue to use animals for the development of new drugs until the appearance of alternative methods.

On the one hand, many people believe that experimenting on animals is such a cruel action. A myriad types of medical products developed each year means that the life of thousands of animals are put at high risk or even become death. Exponents of banning animal tests believe that they have the right to live in harmony with human beings instead of being the subject of people’s experiment. They believe that people need to take into consideration that the lives of animal kinds should be respected.

On the other hand, supporters of animal experiments believe that testing on animals for medical research and other products is possible until the replacements are available. Animal trials enable researchers to test an appropriate dose of medication that people can obtain and ensure about human’s safety and survival. It is true that humans evolved from animals. It means that there will be many similarities so that animal tests bring a great source of efficiency to the development of drugs.

In conclusion, I firmly hold the view that animal tests for the development of drugs are justifiable until the advent of alternative approaches. The question is left for the scientists to find new ways of medical testing.