Topic: In some countries today, many people decide to have their first child when they are older. What are the reasons? Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, many people have a tendency to give birth at a later stage in life in certain countries. This can be attributed to a host of reasons, and I am convinced that the advantages of this development pale in comparison with its disadvantages.

One major ground behind the rising popularity of delaying parenthood is today young people are destined to wholeheartedly devote themselves to pursuing their career path. In fact, in the era of cutting-edge technology, there are various jobs available in hubs in big cities, which are promised salaries as well as create opportunities for them to grow. This will be a solid foundation for them to land a sufficient job, and stable income to support their families in a competitive labor market. In addition, living in a modern society, several concepts have changed, thereby influencing the viewpoints of people. These days, people pay much attention to personal achievements, and constantly set goals for themselves. As a result, they might postpone having children before accomplishing their ambitions.

On the flip side, the trend toward deferred childbearing does more harm than good. The first disadvantage is that this decision might be associated with potential health risks since giving birth at more maternal age. The more later they have children, the more fertility issues they have to confront during their pregnancy, and an increased risk of genetic disorders in their children. This is compounded by the fact that the energy and stamina required for raising children may be compromised in older parents, affecting their ability to provide adequate care. Furthermore, postponing parenthood would inadvertently create a significant gap between the two generations, making it difficult for parents to understand and communicate with their offspring, thereby adversely affecting the family bond.

In conclusion, although concentrating on developing a personal career is crucial, I am convinced that the drawbacks of this trend are outweighed, including posing a threat related to health as well as the challenges in raising their children.