Tourism is causing environmental problem all around the world. What is the main cause? what is the soulution?

Many people believe that the tourism sector contributes to environmental issues by increasing the amount of disposable waste in certain areas. However, this problem could be tackled by educating tourists about ecological laws.

The rise of disposable waste volume in tourism areas is the primary reason for the emerging environmental issues, causing the ecosystem imbalance. The wastes left by the high volume of tourists cannot be degraded quickly, affecting the life of organisms around. For instance, a study conducted by Green Peace Indonesia in 2019 stated that more than 100 sea turtles were found dead on Kuta Beach in less than six months due to being toxified by plastic waste coming from the beach. At the same time, the volume of tourists’ disposal waste at Kuta beach also jumped by 20% annually. Hence, the rise of traveler numbers in Kuta contributed to the death of sea turtles in 2019, given the increase of plastic waste found around the shores.

However, raising the tourists' awareness about environmental regulations is the best possible solution to tackle the ecological issue in the tourism sector. As they become more aware of the impacts their littering action would be their loss, they are prone to pay attention to it when being at tourist sites. For example, ever since the Orchid Forest management team charged high fines to visitors who litter the sites in 2019, the volume of disposable waste found decreased significantly by more than 70% in a year. Hence, charging fines prevents environmental issues from happening.

In conclusion, educating people about the law is the best possible solution to decrease waste disposal and solve the environmental problems in tourism. This can be started by using campaigns in the media to raise awareness.