Tourism has caused environmental problems in many parts of the world. What sort of problems has been caused and what can be done about them?

Human has come a long way from their primitives lives and has made it possible to commute to different places of the Earth despite the national boundaries. However, tourism is responsible for the considerable damage to nature problems by way of pollution and other things. Nevertheless, alleviating this problem is not merely a dream.

To count the maladies, the preponderant one is the pollution which is caused by harmful gases emitted in huge amount by planes and vehicles used by travellers along with the waste in form of plastic bags and litter thrown away by them. To instantiate, according to World Environmental Organization, tourism is one of the leading causes of increasing environmental pollution which is escalating rapidly. Another issue is the scarcity of land, happening due to construction of new buildings, infrastructure s and places for the accommodation, entertainment and attracting the international travel s to earn money. For this land, lots of trees are cut to create space which leads to global warming and reducing amount of carbon dioxide. Recently built statue of Vallabhbhai Patel is an excellent example of this.

Looking at the solutions, the simplest and best way is promoting Eco-tourism - environmental friendly tourism which is operated and organized by the many organizations like Responsibletourism and Keynder. To exemplify, Kenya and Bhutan are some examples of eco-tourism countries and are considered to the least polluted and most environment friendly nations. Another way of amelioration is to maintain and improve existing infrastructures rather than the building new ones. A good example of this can be cited in Bihar state of India where historical buildings are preserved for the sake of tourism.

To conclude, even though the problems may appear very big at the hand, however, there are always some solutions to alleviate the malady.