Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

Every holiday season, we see a multitude of the mass using their savings to journey to low-cost developing countries. The question is, does tourism impact the environment adversely, or are the economic benefits worth over looking any negativities? In this essay, I will discuss both the pros and cons of tourism, supporting my view of the former argument.

With the influx of vacationers, comes the need for temporary accommodations in the form of motels, high-rise hotels, rental rooms and the likes. This leads to an increase in employment, as in those days there is a demand for hotel staff, which includes but is not limited to receptionists, clerks, cooks and cleaning personnel. Sales of various good and services, such as souvenirs stores, street food stands or transport services, benefit monetarily and with them, federal tax reserves. Despite all this, after this, destination towns are left empty for the rest of the year.

The disadvantages are not far and few, unfortunately. I believe, most drawbacks mentioned below are long lasting. Firstly, the pollution that occurs is far too great to go unnoticed; noise that comes with overcrowding, waste that comes with infrastructures not designed for such activities and the air pollution with the aeroplanes that journey to and from the destination country. Furthermore, this polluting of the environment continues with the ever-more destruction of green spaces and historical sites in favour of high-rise malls and hotels, specifically to promote tourism. The damage does not end here, and many a times, due to the lack of preservation, historical sites are left vandalised with litter.

In conclusion, despite the economic benefit, the improvement is only seasonal. Whereas, the environmental harm is long lasting and in my opinion outweighs the advantages.