Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

It can not be denied that tourism plays an essential role in the majority of the economy. Over a period of 50 years, tourism has brought negative impacts to the environment despite the development of the economy. In this essay, I will illustrate both benefits and drawbacks of the tourism industry.

The first thing I would like to mention is the advantage that tourism has brought to some countries. These days, the tourism industry in some of the countries is considered to have been contributed and boosted the economy by attracting investments and contracts, which means tourism has successfully brought the profits-a huge amount of money. For example, a country can benefit and manufacture products from its own natural resources; however, support from other countries is necessary to reinforce the position on the market. Therefore, tourism is an indirect way that investors can travel to various regions to find the potential in order to cooperate.

On the other hand, tourism of course has many negative impacts on the environment. As a result of the massive development, the number of visitors and tourists keeps increasing every year. Nevertheless, this expansion has led to pollution because of the lack of awareness of many people. For instance, it had been reported that many beaches these days are losing their beauty due to a large amount of garbage left after every high season. Additionally, many precious statues or carvings or caves had been vandalized seriously because many impolite tourists said that they wanted to bring back something as a souvenir, which results in the action of scarping.

To sum up, the tourism industry not only brings positive but also negative impacts on a country. Although it has brought benefits to the economy, the serious damage that it caused on the environment also affects the local people, and in the near future, the pollution can lead to economic stagnation.