Towns and cities are attractive places. Some suggest the government should spend money putting in more works of art like paintings and statues to make them better to live in. Do you agree or disagree?

For over years, the metropolis has never failed to allure domestic and international citizen as its great opportunities and some people believe that government should allocate sufficient funds for promoting music and arts as a form of entertainment. From my personal of view, we cannot deny the enchantment of cities and towns; however, countries should employ most of the funds in important services such as education, health and transportation.

Because towns and cities provide major benefits to both inhabitants and expats like competitive job opportunities, excellent education or better medical treatment, it inevitably entices to a large number of people. The first obvious reason is that a high diversity and competition in townsites drives medical center to hire the most qualified staff and knowledgeable doctor, ensuring the best treatment for patients. This gives people live in big cities the highest caliber of medical, compared to those living in rural areas, who have to travel dozen of miles to visit a doctor or a specialist for a meticulous care. Besides giving a multitude of opportunities for healthcare, living in townsites also gives residents a myriad fine dining and shopping options as a benefit from cultural diversity. For example, Chicago, which is a mixed cultural city, serves a wide range of international food at different prices, bringing together different types of people and expanding ethnic restaurant options.

I personally think that government spending on the arts is a waste of money; instead, it is important to allocate funds for public service. The first reason explaining this is that most of the country’s revenue is collected through the taxation system so that it is imperative for governments to spend the available money on the most effective public of nation, which is beneficial to society in large. On the contrast, despite costing big money, the contribution of arts to national profits is mainly in entertainment purpose and just a minor in terms of education and economy. The second reason is that in order to make a city better and livable, the best and fastest way is to boost the economy and build an effective education system. This is further explained by the fact that if there more and more member joining the elite by giving them a free education to everybody or opening vocational classes, it will be a reduction in crimes, which eventually boosts the city’s growth in a long-run and make the urban lifestyle more valuable.

In conclusion, we cannot deny both the attraction of urban areas as it has a wide range of culture and opportunities and the contribution of art works to society. However, the government should value the money make a city truly livable by allocating it for more important areas such as education, healthcare, transportation or military instead of arts.