The tradition of families getting together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

In recent years, people have not maintained the custom of having family meals together. There are some reasons which can be put forward to explain this changing pattern of behaviour, followed by two significant impacts on family life and health.

The fact that family members no longer eat with each other can be attributable to two reasons. With a fast pace of modern life, family members separated during the day, with men, women, and children headed to different daytime destinations, which results in the availability in the family meal being unfeasible. Take boarding schools as a case in point, these schools, which provide education for pupils who live on the premises, require students to have lunch right at their campus, thus, children are not allowed to going home and eat meats with family. Another explanation for this changing pattern of behaviour is that leading a sedentary lifestyle, children are often too impatient to eat at the table, and parents sometimes allow them to have their meal in front of the TV or sitting in front of the computer. In single-parent households, or in families with working mothers, under pressure of heavy workload, parents often order food outside from the home instead of going through a time – consuming process to prepare meals, and family members can eat anywhere they feel comfortable and spend screentime.

The consequences for family life and for children’s health are serious. From the perspective of family value, mealtimes are a time to share experience, give guidance and to make plans together, which is an essential factor in shaping children’s personality during their formative years. Without this routine, youngsters have more trouble with drugs and alcohol abuse, show lacklustre academic performance, and report a lack of empathy with their parents. In terms of children’s health, eating away from home lead children to have snacks, or to eat junk food at fast food chains. Health consequences such as obesity and hyperactivity often ensue when youngsters fail to eat a balanced diet, such as used to be provided at family mealtimes.

In conclusion, some reasons can be identified for the decline in shared family meals and the impacts are overwhelmingly negative.