The only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Road safety has long been of great concern to the government. It is undeniable that stricter penalties have succeeded in reducing accident rates. However, I strongly disagree that it is the only measure to improve road safety, and the lawmaker should combine a long range of alternative countermeasures to promote better driving habits.

Stringent punishment undoubtedly acts as a deterrent which will force drivers to be more disciplined and alert when controlling vehicles. The full weight of the law should be applied in imposing on traffic violators in variety forms such as heavy fines, licence suspension, driver awareness courses, and even custodial sentence. The aim of these punishments is to propagating the negative consequences to drivers, which will encourage people to drive more safely. The letter of the law must be strictly implemented, prohibit offenders from the roads so they will no longer pose danger to other road users, including pedestrians. A case in point is in the UK, those who drive while intoxicated will serve a prison sentence.

While harsh penalties for offenders should be high on the government agenda, merely imposing these cannot prevent optimally criminal offences on the roads. Every solution is only effective in their own causes and situations. Firstly, for those who unintentionally infringe the road regulations due to their poor driving skills, it is imperative to educate licence applicants properly by attending extended safe-driving courses and passing strict tests. Besides education, improving road infrastructure and transportation systems is equally important to regulate road user’s behaviors. For instance, signs can be used to warn people, speed bumps and road bends can be added to calm traffic, and speed cameras can aid in deterring people from violating the road regulations. Finally, it is necessary to adopt a policy of conducting regular vehicle inspections, at authorised centres, to avoid accidents caused by mechanical failures.

In conclusion, in order to minimize the potential for road accidents, it is not enough to be tough on traffic crimes by punishing harsh those who bend the law. A range of road safety measures should accompany harsher driving penalties.