The tradition that famliy gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts on families and societies?

In the modern life, families do not have foods together as they used to be in the past. This change led to several problems on either families or societies. In this essay, I will be discussing these problems along with the causes of this concerning change in tradition.

There are various factors contributed to the transformation of family’s eating habits. Firstly, due to the difference between work and study schedule in the present and the past, family members are now no longer be able to go home at the same time so it is difficult for them to have meals together. Secondly, the intense amount of works is also made a huge impact on this change in family’s eating. Employees or even the CEO of the company often go home late because there are plenty of works to deal with, as a result, they usually buy foods online and eat while they are doing their tasks. Finally, since the invention of fast foods, people are likely to eat at the fast foods stores rather than cooking at home because of it convenient. For instance, in Vietnam, many parents give their children money to buy fast foods so instead of going home and cook lunch or dinner for them, they will stay at their company to finish their businesses.

This tradition alteration has caused several issues both in families and the society. Since people no longer gather for meals, they will not be able to share their stories and the bond between family members will be faded by time. The understanding between parents and their children are also be limited and eventually, at some point, parents will no longer understand their children which would create conflicts. Moreover, the disappearance of this tradition will make a huge impact on the society since in special occasions people do not feel the need to organize a family reunion so these occasions might be forgotten in the future.

In conclusion, the transformation of family meals is the result of myriad factors which have caused several in the families as well as in societies.