Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic in big cities.

Nowadays, it is obvious that congestion in most countries is on increase and cities are become busier. Nevertheless, the given topic asserts that congestion problem must be tackled, it is a global issue and most people, especially those who live in big cities which are affected by it.

The first step is to understand why it is happening? Broadly speaking, there are some main reason for this. The first and foremost is nowadays everyone want to travel their own vehicle instead of public transport, they want to travel alone and public vehicles are not reliable and efficient. While, the world population increased day by day and in result the number of vehicles are widely spread on the road. A particularly good example here is Delhi, people face heavy traffic jam in this city.

On the other hand, people should change their working habits and held meetings on the internet by video conference. Whereas, people should use public transport, it is cheaper and helpful way to cope the traffic jam problem on the road. Apart from all this, government must charge congestion fee on for every car that will go into a city centre and this with either discourage people from driving into that area or rise money for public transport. The best epitome of this London which is charge congestion fee.

In conclusion, the problem of traffic congestion can be tackled by improving public transportation system, changing working habits and by charging drivers who enter into the city centre.