traffic jam

In recent years, traffic congestion has been a matter of concern in different parts of the world, especially in megacities. Although actions have been taken to deal with this issue, there is still not a significant improvement. The aim of this essay is to examine several main reasons for this situation and to suggest potential solutions to tackle it.

The fact that traffic jam often occurs in major cities is attributed to a host of causes. The first one is related to the increasing number of private vehicles. Take Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam as a typical example. This is regarded as the most populated region of the country due to migration. The majority of the local residents have a habit of using cars and motorbikes for daily commute since they do not have to waste time at bus stations. Another reason that needs to be taken into account is traffic infrastructure. For instance, most of the roads in major cities in Vietnam are generally so narrow that they are unlikely to accommodate an increasing number of road participants.

Certain measures can be taken so as to reduce traffic jams. One of the first practical ways could be that the government should implement flexitime, which allows workers to travel to and from work at off-peak traffic hours. This would help avoid frequent blockages on the roads. In addition, local authorities are advised to invest in upgrading the traffic system, for example, widening small roads and constructing more overpasses in order to increase the traffic flow.

In conclusion, despite the fact that congested traffic is a common phenomenon in big urban areas in the world, changing work practices and road renovation would possibly benefit to a certain extent.