Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages.

Opinions vary on whether it is possible that qualifications are being offered by many universities and colleges through distance learning. I am of the opinion that the disadvantages are eclipsed by the advantages.

It is undeniable that there are some drawbacks of e-learning courses in terms of poor discipline and limited teacher-student communication. With regard to the former, online degree courses require learners to have great self-discipline when there are no instructors and scheduled meeting times as traditional courses. For example, the students have a class at 7 a.m, they cannot skip the class, if not, they would be punished by the teachers while the online learners are not under the observation of instructors, as a result, they can study whenever they want or they do not study when the laziness wins. As far as the latter is concerned, online learners cannot offer face-to-face teaching method, thus allowing them to ask and get the answers immediately. This leads their questions to sink into oblivious. For instance, if the learners do not understand clearly a point of the online lecture, they do not respond this to their teachers as the traditional way, they will not catch up with the courses, which makes them decrease their learning-motivation and forget their studying-purpose.

Despite the aforementioned arguments, e-learning course is a beneficial way to approach education concerning the freedom in learning and huge knowledge from online library systems. The first advantage is the fact that the learners can cover the materials at their own pace without being neglected by their classmates. This can help them go further and gain vast knowledge far quickly and effectively. To take an example, online learners can choose study-place such as a book-café or libraries to self-study when they cannot concentrate on a noisy classroom fulfilling of the sound of their classmate chatting. Another major contribution is the fact that e-learners can access with a huge knowledge when they use cutting-edge websites integrating many universities in the distance-learning system. It is easier to get up-to-date information and academic documentaries regarding the majors in which they study in the digital age.

In conclusion, although there are some negative effects about which people should take into account, I hold the view that the advantages are more substantial than the disadvantages