Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development overweight the disadvantages?

It is true that innovative technologies have changed the way people learn and get qualifications nowadays. Some people claim that internet-based learning has such negative impacts on students' interaction and motivation, while I believe that the benefits are more significant than drawbacks.

To begin with, it might be undeniable that there are flip sides of taking distance learning. Firstly, it may confine people's interaction as students only glue their eyes to the computer's screen when studying online. In particular, things people could do during the class are typing on their laptop, taking notes and sometimes asking questions to their tutors through the microphone. Secondly, getting unmotivated is possible to happen when ones study alone. This is because they cannot experience the conviviality of being on campus and rubbing shoulders with others on a daily basis. As a result, they might lose their interest in learning which leads to low grades or dropping out of their studies.

On the other hand, distance learning courses are considered to do wonders for students in many aspects. First of all, universities offering online courses allow students to fit their learning around their work and home life. For example, students may find it comfortable when setting their own pace of study which can help them become more concentrated on the lessons. Moreover, a great deal of time and money in commuting is lower if students take distance classes. For instance, people do not have to spend money or hours on a bus to get to school, all they need is a computer equipped a microphone and headphone. Thus, learning remotely prove its merits on students' work-life balance and commuting costs saving.

To sum up, although having some negative influences, I think that distantly delivered study would greatly benefit students in many fields of their life.