It is said that each major of tertiary studies ought to have a balanced number of male and female students. This essay disagrees with this statement. Firstly, this essay will discuss the university’s entrance criteria and secondly, discuss the effects of the lack of professionals on the society as a whole.

In order to be accepted for university studies, there are qualifications which need to be met, such as academic performances and willingness to follow those studies. Undergraduates should have the possibility to chose which major they want to pursue based on their options and examination results, and not to be influenced by gender criteria. For example, it is known that the number of female teachers is higher compared with men teachers, and, at the same time, Engineering is a career chosen mostly be men.

Society would be affected by the decreased number of professionals. Restricting university students to follow the desired specialization means that some of them would refuse to start a program that they do not feel passionate about it or even not being able to participate in a program because they have the “wrong sex”. This would reflect in a small number of future professionals, which would affect the job market and the entire society. For instance, the childcare sector would have to downsize their center due to the insufficient number of child educators, which would have serious repercussions on the entire society.

In conclusion, academic requirements ought to influence university’s acceptances because the reduced level of specialized people would reflect important drawbacks on the whole society.