Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

As the century draws to close, gender issues such as inequality has become of profound importance. Although some top ranked universities have strict norms regarding the reservation of seats based on gender, this ratio tend to vary according to subjects in most universities. This practise is clearly demeaning the importance of equality among gender and I agree to the fact that a paradigm shift in education which provides equality in the intake of both the genders should be adopted.

Admitting varying numbers of male and female students in an institution can be erroneous for myriad reasons. For instance, when less number of girls are preferred for a particular course, it can lead to a classroom environment in which boys dominate in taking decisions regarding classroom activities. Therein, it affects in the healthy classroom relationship between the students.

However, if a balance is stricken between the ratios of these two genders, it can be beneficial. When equal number of male and female students learn a particular subject, it eliminates the chances of one gender dominating a specific field. Apparently, it also supports the notion of feminism.

On the other hand, it will also contribute in improving certain fields by combining the gender specific abilities of both the genders. For example, women having a detailed grasp on the emotional intelligence and men being more predominant in the reasoning skills, they together can work on projects such as artificial intelligence and robotics. In addition, it also breaks the phenomenon of glass ceiling, this in turn helps every individual to excel in their academics and occupation regardless of their gender.

Therefore, it can be concluded that from the aforementioned points it is crystal clear that only if we provide a equal space in an educational setting, the sense of equality can be expanded to other dimensions of job and society. So, political action should be implemented to ensure same ratio reservation for both male and female students.