University students always focus on one specialist subject, but some people think universities should encourage their students to study a range of subjects in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, tertiary students tend to concentrate on one major subject whilst some people think that students should be encouraged to participate in other subjects. I strongly agree with this opinion because the students will easily fall in stress when they focus on one subject and in some cases, they will choose to drop out.

The primary reason for my belief is that undergraduates may have a sense of strain with an intensive curriculum. In many universities, students are always under pressure for many examinations to make the grade. As a consequence, those nerve-racking moments may spoil their interest in the subject and from time to time students will fall behind with their studies or in some situations, students may choose to drop out of college to find other ambitions. In addition, students should take part in other subjects to have more skills to support their major. For example, music subjects help students enhance their creativity which is needed for the main subject.

Another reason for my belief is that the more subjects students study, the more jobs opportunities they have. In each subject, students will be able to learn different skills which are very useful for their job prospects. Furthermore, real life enables students to put the knowledge and skills gained during their studies into practice, it may help them adapt in a flexible way with many professionals in society. In the long-term, it is the vital key to move up the career ladder. Moreover, studying a range of subjects helps students discover their strengths and weaknesses, since they can make an accurate decision about their future.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that students should have motivation from universities because of the development of their careers. It is recommended that universities should organize some short courses for students so that they could single out their suitable curriculum.