The use of corporal punishment (physically hitting students) in schools is in decline, yet it should be used to improve behaviour.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the contemporary era, there is a heated argument over the issue that corporal punishment should be necessary or not in educational institutes to improve the behaviour of students. It has been a moot point for years. A lion's share of society favors it, however, the rest reverse it. I am of the opinion that corporal punishment is unwarranted because it affects students mentally and physically.

There is a deluge of arguments in favor of my stance. Physical punishment like spanking has not any positive effect on students, even it worsens the situation. For instance, when students create ruckus in class then physical punishment like hitting makes them more aggressive.

Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that discipline is important for every student or children but not enforcing it by corporal punishment. This type of punishment creates fear in students' minds and even they will try to skip school and hide their mistakes students will not give respect to teachers.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the drawbacks of corporal punishment are indeed to dire to ignore. Instead of punishment, teachers need to set role models for students with their actions and behaviour. They need to guide them with other activities.