In this day and age, an increasing number of contemporaries are paying attention to whether it is beneficial or detrimental for people to keep using social media for communication instead of face-to-face interaction. Personally, I believe that the benefits of this type of communication is overshadowed by the drawbacks.

In terms of the positive, the widespread of social networking make it easy for people to keep in touch with their loved ones, regardless of geographic locations. For example, students who study abroad can stay in contact with their families and friends on a daily basis by using the video call features of Facebook, Skype or other apps. Moreover, social media like video conferencing gives companies and enterprises the golden opportunity to expand their business worldwide without worrying about the challenges and problems caused the inability of their employees to attend company's meetings and training.

Regarding the negative,I personally believe that when it comes to communication, social media does more harm than good. The abuse of social media reduces the quality of interpersonal communication. It is observed that, nowadays, a range number of people are so heavily addicted to the social networking sites that they do not pay attention to people around them even their families. In addition to this, social media also affects the style of speaking and writing, especially the youngsters. These days, many teenagers have a habit of using abbreviated words, which are frequently used in texting messages and social media in academic essays and formal emails.

From these above mentioned reasons, the conclusion can be drawn that despite the benefits social networking brings, it comes with an exceeding share of problems ranging from poor communication to negative style of speaking and writing.