Violence In Media Promotes Violence In Society. To what extent do you agree?

It is often argued that violent programmes on television and the internet influence people to commit crime and incite violence. I completely agree with this opinion. In this essay, I will be analysing the negative impacts of media on the society before arriving at a conclusion.

Firstly, people tend to believe that brutality shown in movies is heroic and they imitate them blindly. Film stars perform stunts and crimes in their movies, making the audience believe that such activities are essential to become a super human. Viewers are influenced when they watch actors perform violent activities on screen. For example, there are many reports of people committing crimes as a result of watching crime thriller films. These audience turned criminals plot their brutal acts by imitating what they saw in such movies.

Secondly certain kind of media allows people to form groups, which can be misused as a platform to spread hatred among people. Social media such as Facebook and Whatsapp have features that allow users to communicate and spread violence without any censorship. Issues like religious intolerance and racial discrimination often hurt individual sentiments. Consequently, people become selfish and they start hating each other. For example, nowadays, terrorists use social media to brainwash people to perform violent activities such as bombing and explosions.

In conclusion, different forms of media like movies and social media promote brutality as people get inspired and brainwashed by its contents.