Violence in the media promotes violence in society. Do you agree or disagree?

The world that we live in today is dominated by media such as television, the internet and newspaper. I partially agree with the statement that if media show violent news then that increase more violence in the public. In my opinion there are two sides of the coin, one is negative and other is positive.

To begin with the positive aspect of violence in media. With the broadcast of violent incidents by media, it creates more awareness and caution among public. Take for example news about domestic violence and serial killing. By watching such news people become more careful and get knowledge about related laws or the required actions that they can take in similar situation. Therefore, probability of crimes is decreasing and safety measures are increasing.

However, if we look at the downside of showing physical force or threatened, there are detrimental effects on underage people. As a result, such shows put enormous emotional and mental pressure on children like depression and anti-social behavior. Although there is a censor board to control harmful information, but there are very few ethical and moral principles left among media. In addition, violent shows can give ideas to criminals to do other crimes by shoeing previous criminals’ crime strategies and the mistakes which led them to get caught.

After analyzing all the above factors, I would like to conclude that media has enormous impact on our everyday lives. Violence in media has its own merits and demerits as every good thing has advantages and disadvantages. So to gain the advantages, we have to tackle the disadvantages.