It is a fact that providing assistance to all people who are in need of help is impossible, so some hold the belief that nations should only address their own issues before taking care of international concerns. Personally, I totally disagree with this point of view while I believe that domestic people are a priority.

There are a variety of reasons why we should cooperate with other countries in order to find out solutions for difficulties they are facing. Firstly, in the age of globalization, all countries have certain effects on one another economically and culturally. So helping others is also a preventative measure for predictable issues. Case in point, in the past, when several European countries had to face a currency crisis, they were helped by a lot of related countries all over the world. Secondly, one problem would be far over the ability of a nation, but others can tackle it easily because every nation has its own strong points. For example, African countries are trying to survive in poverty and children are dying because of starvation and treatable diseases. In this case, the rich worldwide can donate to some charity fund, from clothes to money or pay for welfare there.

Last but not least, it would be really morally wrong if we just ignore unfortunate people while we can help. Because no matter where we live, all people deserve others' help to have better lives.

At the same time, communities also need to pay attention to address their difficulties as a priority. There are always people who are in trouble anywhere, not only in poor areas but also in most developed countries. For example, thousands of homeless in the USA are wandering on streets by day by night and they survive on the little amount of money from the government. We can help them without effort because they are right at our doorsteps. Moreover, a government cannot be concerned with foreign issues if it leaves behind domestic citizens. The reality proved that groups of people have had mass movements to demonstrate against the government because their problems were not solved.

In conclusion, I do not subscribe to the opinion and strongly believe that communities and countries should take account of both national and international problems together.