Some people believe that we should not help people in other countries
as long as there are problems in our own society. I disagree with this view
because I believe that we should try to help as many people as possible.
On the one hand, I accept that it is important to help our neighbours and
fellow citizens. In most communities there are people who are
impoverished or disadvantaged in some way. It is possible to find
homeless people, for example, in even the wealthiest of cities, and for
those who are concerned about this problem, there are usually
opportunities to volunteer time or give money to support these people. In
the UK, people can help in a variety of ways, from donating clothing to
serving free food in a soup kitchen. As the problems are on our doorstep,
and there are obvious ways to help, I can understand why some people
feel that we should prioritise local charity.
At the same time, I believe that we have an obligation to help those who
live beyond our national borders. In some countries the problems that
people face are much more serious than those in our own communities,
and it is often even easier to help. For example, when children are dying
from curable diseases in African countries, governments and individuals
in richer countries can save lives simply by paying for vaccines that
already exist. A small donation to an international charity might have a
much greater impact than helping in our local area.
In conclusion, it is true that we cannot help everyone, but in my opinion
national boundaries should not stop us from helping those who are in
need.