It seems a consensus nowadays that computer technology is reaching an unprecedented prosperity and it is likely to continually develop in the future. Understandably, computer skills are becoming increasingly essential in terms of either schooling or employment. Some people argued that computer skills should receive an equal importance as reading, writing and math in teaching children. Form my perspective, regardless of the apparent advantages bring by computer skills, children should not access to them too early.

Admittedly, mastering the sophisticated computer skills is of benefit to children’s further education and even career. The demand of skilled employees in terms of computer is soaring in a stunned speed with the rapid progress of information science and technology. It is undoubted that graduates who received a quality education in this field tend to get employed with higher salary. Moreover, computer skills enable children to improve other skills including reading, writing and math, since there are plenty of free resources in the Internet which can be approached by young students.

Nevertheless, the dark side of computers to students, especially pupils should not be overlooked. The first disadvantage is that children are prone to addicted in some electronic games which, in some extent, pose a threat to their academic performance. There is no denying that young children cannot distinguish what is wrong and right without adequate life experiences. As a consequence, they may spend too much time in playing computers instead of learning other subjects.

Health hazard is another problem that can be result from computers. In order to learn more computer skills, young children have to keep their eyes in front of the screen for a really long time. This posture is inevitably detrimental to their body health. in addition, the sedentary lifestyle also does harm to other organs. To illustrated, the rate of weak vision is rising in a alarming speed in china since the spread of computers.

In conclusion, computer skills do provide some unique merits to children. While, I believe that, without any limits and appropriate guidance, more problems than benefits will surface when students access to computer in the young age.