As well as making money, business also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

It is said that together with making profits, companies also need to have puclic reponsibilities. In my opinion, while generating profit is the top priority of each company, I agree that they should conduct their business their business in a socially responsible manner.

On the one hand, the effort to maximize profits may be beneficial in some ways. Firstly, the higher profits the companies make, the more taxes they are able to pay. For example, taxes such as stamp duties or income tax are useful for the government to clear up social issues in terms of education or health care. Secondly, by earning huge profits, enterprises are likely to reinvest in their business and enlagre the business scale. For instance, firm could use money generating from carrying on business effectively to expand their production system as well as R&D department to enhance the quality of goods.

On the other hand, there are strong reasons why business should make themselves be in charged of social issues. The first reason is that, companies’ activities cause a great deal of harm to the environment. Without controls, these activities may result in serious environment degredation, such as global warming and greenhouse effect causing from factory emission. As a result, enterprises should make plans to protect the environment. For example, instead of discharging chemical waste into rivers, factories should installl waste treatment systems. Secondly, enterprises should spend money raising a charity or scholarship fund to support people who are under the standard living conditions in order to help them turn to a new page in life. For instance, companies ought to raise a charity fund supporting the poor people in terms of food and other living conditions; while for the youngsters, businesses can donate money to scholarship to send them studying abroad.

In conclusion, although making money is important to companies, I agree that companies should be responsible for social problems as well.