As well as making money, businesses also have social
responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?
The idea that, besides making money, enterprises also need to have public
responsibilities remains a source of controversy. In my opinion, while generating
profit is the top priority for each company, I agree that they should also conduct
their business in a socially responsible manner.
On the one hand, the efforts of companies to maximize their profits may have some
benefits for society as a whole. [1] Firstly, the higher the profits earned by
enterprises, the more taxes they pay to the government. As a result, authorities
may have more revenue to spend in key fields, including education and health care,
which leads to an improvement in the quality of life of the whole community. [2]
Secondly, by earning huge profits companies have the opportunity to grow their
business. For example, firms could use their capital to expand their production,
creating new job opportunities within the community.
On the other hand, there are strong reasons why businesses should also accept that
they have social responsibilities. [1] The first reason is that their activities have an
effect on the environment. Without controls, production processes may result in
serious environmental degradation, such as global warming stemming from factory
emissions or the irresponsible disposal of industrial waste. For example, if
factories installed waste treatment systems instead of discharging chemical wastes
into rivers, water pollution could be controlled. [2] Another reason is that
enterprises should help those who are less fortunate, since they have the money to
do so. For example, big corporations such as Unilever and Vinamilk have
enhanced their public image through philanthropic actions such as providing
scholarships and giving charitable donations.
In conclusion, although I recognize that making profits is the fundamental principle
of business, I would argue that all businesses should profoundly reflect upon their
social responsibilities.