As well as making money, businesses also have social

responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the functions of enterprises are not only earning money but also social responsibilities. In my opinion, while generating profit is the mission which companies care the most, I agree that they should spend attention on helping people and saving the environment.

On the one hand, even maximizing profit of companies still give society the benefit. First, by trying to do this, corporations will be able to make more revenue, thereby paying more taxes to the government. This means that authorities may have more money to spend on society, such as education and health care, which result in an improvement in the quality of citizens’ life. Second, since the companies grow their business, they are required to recruit a large number of employees, which means that many job opportunities will be created. Evidence of this can be seen with Google that has approximately 100.000 employees that creates job opportunities not only in the USA but also in many countries.

On the other hand, there are strong reasons why businesses should also accept that they have social responsibilities. The first reason is that their activities have an effect on the environment. Corporations may emit exhaust industrial waste which harms the environment when producing goods and this has resulted in global warming or endangered species. A clear illustration of this is that Formusa company thrown toxic into the South China Sea, causing the death of a huge number of fishes and putting the life of fishermen in jeopardy. Another reason is that enterprises have the ability to help people who are less fortunate. For example, in order to help poor people, big corporations can make philanthropic actions such as providing scholarships or giving charitable donations, which makes their life become easier.

In conclusion, although generating profit is the top priority for each company, I strongly believe that companies should profoundly reflect upon their social responsibilities.