The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments

on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary life, with the development of vehicles, traffic accidents are increasing significantly and it requires effective methods such as stricter punishments to solve that problem. However, I strongly believe that this is not the only way to make improvements to road safety, there are many alternative measures which would also be useful.

On the one hand, stricter punishments will undoubtedly act as a deterrent, so that drivers will think twice when before committing traffic offenses. There are two kinds of punishments: non-custodial sentences and prison sentences. Non-custodial sentences, such as fines or the confiscation of driving licenses, are methods which does not put the crimes in jail. In contrast, crimes who are served a prison sentence are confined in a prison as a punishment. For example, if you drive cars after drinking alcohol and be busted by polices, you will stay in the jail for several days even though there is no accident happened. The government can make these penalties become stricter by increasing the fines or raise the time that driving licenses are confiscated.

On the other hand, there are other ways to make road safety better which are not punishments. These measures can be effective for a long time and prevent drivers from causing accidents even when they are losing attention. First, the government have to build a system including banners, videos, advertisements to teach drivers that obeying the traffic rules is protecting not only others but also themselves from unfortunate accidents. Second, some countries build speed bumps on the spots where crashes happen regularly and this has resulted in reducing accident rates. Third, there are some companies invited such an useful car equipment to limit the speed, which means that drivers have to control the cars below the speed which has been set.

In conclusion, although stricter punishments show that it is a very effective method to improve road safety, I strongly believe there are many useful measures should accompany drivers penalties.