The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments
on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
It is true that stricter punishments will deter many motorists from driving dangerously or
carelessly on the roads. However, I strongly disagree that this is the only way to improve
road safety, because there are alternative measures which would also be effective.
Stricter punishments will undoubtedly act as a deterrent, so that motorists will think
twice before committing traffic offenses. It is often forgotten that motoring offenses are,
in fact, crimes. The full weight of the law should be applied in imposing a range of
non-custodial sentences, such as heavy fines, and the confiscation of driving licences.
The letter of the law must be strictly implemented, banning offenders from the roads so
they will no longer pose a danger to other road-users, including pedestrians. Those who
drive while intoxicated should serve a prison sentence, as is sometimes imposed in the UK, because they endanger innocent lives.
While harsh penalties for offenders should be high on the government agenda, there are
other steps which national and local authorities should take to improve road safety.
Firstly, installing speed cameras has made drivers aware of the need to adhere to speed
limits. Many authorities around the world have adopted this very cost-effective measure.
Secondly, traffic calming measures have succeeded in reducing the number of accidents,
especially in built-up areas. Finally, it is necessary to adopt a policy of conducting
regular vehicle inspections, at authorised centres, to avoid accidents caused by
mechanical failures.
In conclusion, in order to improve road safety, it is not enough to be tough on traffic
crimes by punishing more harshly those who violate the law. A range of road safety
measures should accompany harsher driving penalties.