As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an increasingly popular idea that businesses should be taken social responsibilities beside making profit. From my own perspective, i strongly support to the idea that businesses not only focus on making money but also need to have public repsonsibilities. For the reasons i will outline below.

To an certain extent, it is true that there are some benefits created from the efforts of companies to maximise their profits. Firstly, the higher the money earned by the businesses, the more taxes they pay. As a result, government can use this money to aid community such as building more schools and hospitals, or repairing roads. Secondly, enterprises might extend their scale if they earn huge profits, which generates a wide range of employment opportunities. By this way, the rate of the unemployment will decrease dramatically and people are capable of improving living conditions.

On the other hand, there are strong reasons why companies should also conduct their business in a socially responsible manner. The first reason is that their activities exert an enormous impact on the environment. For example, ecosystem are being degraded by irresponsible disposal of industrial waste and emissions from factories, which causes globle warming or greenhouse effects. Therefore, social responsibility will oblige them to install waste treatment system and control their business activities. In addition, this enables the companies to participate philanthropic actions such as supporting scholarships or giving charitable donations.

In conclusion, although fundamental principle of business is to make profits, i would argue that all businesses also should take social responsibilities.