As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

It seems clear that enterprises should be responsible for communities in the place where they are located besides earning profits. In my opinion, I strongly agree that they must have responsibilities to society while generating revenue.

On the one hand, the efforts of firms to maximize their profits may have some advantages for society as a whole. Firstly, amount of money from paying tax to government will increase if businesses earn more profits. As a result, there is a plenty of opportunities to renovate public facilities and improve public health due to a higher budget. Secondly, the development of finance draws extending of manufacture. In this regard, there is more chances for local labor market and that is an effective method to decline unemployment rate in local.

On the other hand, companies also have responsibilities to maintain and protect environment in area where they are located. The first reason is that their activities have an effect on surrounded habitat, especially manufacturing. For instance, factories emitting toxic waste as byproducts during manufacturing process must construct chemical waste disposing systems to handle them before discharging them into rivers or atmosphere. Another reason is that they need to spend a part of revenue on charity and social-purpose activites. For example, big companies like ADB and Apple have enhanced their reputation throughout philanthropic actions such as providing scholarships or giving charitable donations for homeless senior citizens.

To sum up, allthought It is clear that all businesses must focus on profits, I highly agree they should refect upon their responsibilities to society.